Since 1775, the U.S. Postal Service has been delivering mail to households across the country. The Postal Service has more than 489,000 employees and shipped over 140 billion units of mail in 2013 alone. U.S. postal workers are government employees and receive full government benefits. In addition, a number of organizations offer scholarship opportunities for postal workers and their families.

Postal History Scholarships for Students

The Postal Service offers the Moroney Junior Award for Scholarship in Postal History to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate scholarship in postal history. To be eligible, applicants must write a journal article, book chapter, conference paper, master's thesis or doctoral dissertation on the topic of postal history. The submission is judged on the originality of the argument, writing structure, research the argument relies on and significance in understanding the history of the American postal system and its role in the American past. At the time of publication, recipients are awarded a one-time, $1,000 scholarship. To apply, students must submit three copies of each submission along with a cover letter.

Postal History Scholarships for Professionals

The United States Postal Service also gives the Senior Moroney Award for Scholarship in Postal History. This award is open to faculty members, independent scholars, public historians or other non-degree candidates who have their work published in a scholarly journal. At the time of publication, winners receive a one-time, $2,000 scholarship. The submissions are judged using the same criteria as for the junior Moroney scholarships; applicants must submit three copies of their original work along with a cover letter. Previous winners are not eligible to apply in subsequent years.

Federal Employee Scholarships

The Federal Employee Education and Assistance Fund provides scholarships to federal employees, including postal workers. At the time of publication, awardees receive between $500 to $2,500 in one-time scholarship funds that they can use to fund their postsecondary education. To be eligible, applicants must be a federal employee or a spouse or dependent of a federal employee. Previous recipients are not eligible. Applicants must have at least a 3.0 GPA and submit transcripts and an essay.

American Postal Workers Union Scholarships

The American Postal Workers Union is an organization representing over 220,000 Postal Service employees and retirees as well as nearly 2,000 private-sector mail workers. The organization provides The E.C. Hallbeck Memorial Scholarship to five male and five female children or grandchildren of union members in the amount of $8,000 to be used toward undergraduate tuition. Applicants must submit transcripts and an essay discussing the importance of unions. Awardees of the scholarship must also maintain a B average during their first and second years of college.

Related Articles