As a parent, you want your child to do her best in school. That includes her yearly standardized test, which is now required in all states because of the No Child Left Behind Act. That standardized test might be the Stanford Achievement Test, which is taken by students in grades K-12. This article will give you an overview of the Stanford Achievement Test and help you to prepare your child to do well on the test.

The Stanford Achievement Test includes reading, math, language, spelling, listening, science and social studies. The exact subjects covered in your child's test will depend on his grade level. The subjects covered in the test should correspond fairly closely to what your child has been taught. To prepare, you can start by looking at your child's grades to figure out where he is strongest and weakest.

Your child's teacher will administer a practice test, or you can request one from them to administer at home. If you give your child the practice test at home, allow as much time as she needs (the test is not timed). Score the test. If there are certain areas where your child did not do well, you should review the material using her textbooks.

Related Articles

If your child has a learning disability or learning difference, or if you think he might have one, speak to your child's teacher immediately. The school might be able to offer accommodations to your child while he takes the test.

Your child's test report that you see does not list your child's raw scores---only her scores in relation to other students. On the left of the report, you will see a Learning Snapshot, which summarizes how your child scored. To the right, you will see a chart titled National Percentile Bands. This will show how your child scored in relation to other students at her grade level. A percentile of 50 means that your child scored the same as or higher than 50 percent of other students at their grade level. In the bottom half of the page, you will see boxes for each subject that explain how your student did in each area and give suggestions for improvement.

In addition to scores for each area covered by the test, you will see a result called "Lexile score." Reading material is also rated on a Lexile measure using the same range. Teachers try to choose books for each student that match that student's reading level, and they use the Lexile score to help.


  • The Stanford Achievement Test is not the same as the SAT Reasoning Test, which is a college admissions test.
  • Start this process at least a month before the test so that you have time to practice with your child in areas where he is weak.
  • Work closely with your child's teacher.

Things Needed

  • Stanford 10 Preview for Parents (available from your child's teacher)
  • Stanford 10 Practice Tests (available from your child's teacher)
  • Your child's textbooks

About the Author

This article was written by a professional writer, copy edited and fact checked through a multi-point auditing system, in efforts to ensure our readers only receive the best information. To submit your questions or ideas, or to simply learn more, see our about us page: link below.