The State University of New York (SUNY) education system is the largest state university system in the United States. It began in Potsdam in 1816 and originally consisted of 29 unaffiliated institutions. As of 2011, it boasts 64 different campuses scattered throughout the state. Among them, there are several schools that offer both bachelor's and master's degrees in a variety of engineering disciplines.

SUNY Binghamton

Located in southwestern New York, SUNY Binghamton ( began as Triple Cities College in 1946, with the mission to serve returning World War II vets. It was later renamed Harpur College in 1950 when it was incorporated into the state university system. It became SUNY Binghamton in 1965. The university's Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences offers undergraduate degrees in bioengineering, computer engineering, computer science, electrical engineering, industrial and system engineering, and mechanical engineering. It offers graduate degrees in electrical and computer engineering.

SUNY Maritime College

SUNY Maritime College ( was established in 1874. Located in Throggs Neck, New York, it offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, business, science and maritime transportation. U.S. News & World Report ranked the school 21st among public baccalaureate colleges in the North in 2010. Students can obtain bachelor of engineering degrees with license opportunities as a third officer for the Merchant Marines. Programs include electrical engineering (deck license), electrical engineering (engine license), marine engineering (engine license), mechanical engineering (engine license), and facilities engineering (engine license).

University of Buffalo - SUNY

The University of Buffalo ( was founded in 1846 and is a flagship institution in the SUNY system. UB boasts the largest campus in the SUNY system and is a member of the Association of American Universities. The school offers 11 undergraduate programs in engineering that range from aerospace and biomedical engineering to civil engineering, environmental engineering, and mechanical engineering. It offers master's degrees in aerospace, chemical and biological, civil, computer science, electrical, industrial and mechanical engineering.

SUNY New Paltz

Located in Ulster County, about 80 miles north of New York City, SUNY New Paltz's ( roots go back to 1828, when it founded as a school for teaching of the classics. In 1942, it became the State Teachers School at New Paltz and joined the state university system in 1948. It officially became SUNY New Paltz in 1994. The school offers Bachelor of Science degrees in electrical engineering and computer engineering. It also has a Master of Science degree program in electrical engineering. The graduate program features courses in electromagnetic fields and waves, telecommunications, electronics, and control systems with both thesis and non-thesis options.

Related Articles