The United States is split into seven regions based on physical characteristics, cultures, politics and history of the states. The regions are split from east to west across the entire United States. These regions are numbered from one to seven and give an idea about the climate and conditions of the states.

New England Region

New England is the easternmost part of the United States regions and is the first region that goes from east to west. The states in New England are Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, Connecticut, New Hampshire and Massachusetts. Geographically, New England is part of the Atlantic-Gulf Coastal Plain, which stretches from the east to the Rio Grande.

Mid-Atlantic Region

The Middle Atlantic States, which are also called the Mid-Atlantic States, are the second region of the United States and are south and west of the New England States. The Mid-Atlantic Sstates are New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. The Mid-Atlantic is also part of the Atlantic-Gulf Coastal Plains geographic locations.

Southern Region

The Southern states make up the third region of the United States. These states are to the south and west of the mid-Atlantic states. The states in the Southern Region include Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Delaware, Maryland, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Arkansas, Louisiana, Florida, Georgia, Alabama and Mississippi. These states are part of the Appalachian Highlands geographic region.

Mid-West Region

The Mid-West Region is to the north of the Southern Region and is the fourth region of the United States. Geographically, the states in the Mid-West are the Interior Plains and part of the Interior Highlands regions. The states in the Mid-West Region are Michigan, North and South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota, Kansas, Nebraska, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Missouri.

South-West Region

The South-West Region of the United States is located directly west of the Southern Region. Geographically, it is part of the Atlantic Gulf Coastal Plain. The states in the South-West Region include Texas, Arizona, New Mexico and Oklahoma.

Rocky Mountains

The Rocky Mountain Region is made up of the states that run through the Rocky Mountains. These states are to the north of the South-West region and West of the Mid-West Region of the United States. The Stated included in the region are Montana, Idaho, Colorado, Utah, Wyoming and Nevada. Geographically, these are both the Rocky Mountain region and the Intermontane Region of the United States.

Pacific Coastal Region

The Pacific Coastal Region is made up of the states which lie along the Pacific Ocean. Geographically, the Pacific Coastal Region is considered the Pacific Mountain System. The states in the Pacific Coastal Region are California, Oregon and Washington.

Related Articles