The 36 states of Nigeria are home to over 70 universities. Tertiary education in Nigeria expanded to cover the whole country in the 1970s. This followed the economic boom generated by the production of oil. Initially, universities were administered by the federal government and the state governments. Licenses are now granted to private sector organizations to establish and manage universities. Religious bodies, corporations and even individuals can now set up and run universities in Nigeria.

University of Lagos

The University of Lagos was established in 1962. In its first year, the student population was 131. Now it numbers more than 30,000 students. There are nine academic faculties and a college of medicine. The academic faculties include arts, business administration, education, engineering, environmental sciences, law, science, social sciences and pharmacy. The university is committed to research and recognizes outstanding achievements of research fellows with awards. The main campus of the university is situated at Akoka, and the College of Medicine is located at Idi-Araba.

University of Lagos P.O. Box 56 Akoka Yaba Lagos Nigeria +(234) 1 734 6354

University of Llorin

Llorin is the capital of Kwara State. The federal government established the university in 1975 as part of the country’s third National Development Plan. A wide range of subjects are studied at the university, and faculties include agriculture, arts, basic medical sciences, business and social sciences, clinical sciences, communication and information sciences, education, engineering and technology, law and sciences. It also includes a Centre for Peace and Strategic Studies, and a College of Health Sciences. The University runs an academic year consisting of two semesters.

Note: the telephone numbers listed for the University of Llorin are cellular network numbers.

University of Llorin P.M.B 1515 Llorin Kwara State Nigeria Telephone: +(234) 031 221 691-4 Fax: +(234) 031 221 937

University of Ibadan

The university was first established in 1948 as part of the University of London. After Nigeria became independent from Britain in 1960, it was recognized that the University of Ibadan should have independent status, and this was achieved in 1962. The university consists of a College of Medicine and academic faculties which include agriculture and forestry, arts, education, law, pharmacy, science, social sciences, technology and veterinary medicine. There are also institutes of African studies, education, and medical research and training. The university currently serves a population of over 19,000 students.

University of Ibadan Ibadan Oyo State 900001 Nigeria +(234) 2 810 2462

Federal University of Technology Akure

Akure is the capital of Ondo State. The University of Technology was established there in 1981. From 2004 it has consistently been voted the best university of technology in Nigeria by the National Universities Commission. The university runs postgraduate programs in mining engineering and meteorology, and recently began to offer graduate degree programs in project management technology and transportation management technology. Plans are in place to offer petroleum engineering, surveying and geo-informatics in the near future.

University of Akure P.M.B. 704 Akure Ondo State Nigeria +(234) 3 420 0090

Related Articles