Many colleges and universities find their home in the state of Florida, from small community colleges all the way up to some of the largest educational institutions in the nation. Among these many colleges are schools classified as Division I and Division II by the National Collegiate Athletic Association. Florida is home to 13 Division I colleges and 12 Division II colleges.

Division I Classification

Division I schools must provide at least seven sports for both genders, or six for men and eight for women, according to the NCAA website. Additionally, there must be two or more team sports offered for each gender during the fall, winter and spring seasons. Each Division 1 sports team must "play a minimum of contests against Division opponents," with the number being determined by the NCAA. Further, the school must offer the required amount of financial aid. Subdivisions within Division I include the Football Bowl Subdivision, which according to the NCAA "uses the postseason bowl system rather than a playoff to determine a national champion in football," and the Football Championship Subdivision, which uses a playoff to determine a championship.

Division I Colleges in Florida

The colleges that qualify as Division I colleges in Florida include: Bethune-Cookman University (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, FCS); the University of Central Florida (Conference USA, FBS); the University of Florida (Southeastern Conference, FBS); Florida A&M University (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, FCS); Florida Atlantic University (Sun Belt Conference, FBS); Florida Gulf Coast University (Atlantic Sun Conference, Division I); Florida International University (Sun Belt Conference, FBS); Florida State University (Atlantic Coast Conference, FBS); Jacksonville University (Atlantic Sun Conference, FCS); the University of Miami, Florida (Atlantic Coast Conference, FBS), the University of North Florida (Atlantic Sun Conference, Division I), the University of South Florida(Big East Conference, FBS); and Stetson University (Atlantic Sun Conference, Division I).

Division II Classification

The NCAA requires that a college have "at least 10 sports (at least five for men and five for women)" with at least two teams for each gender. The sports programs must have participants in the fall, winter and spring, and they must play the required number of contests with the required number of players for each sports. Like Division I, Division II schools have their financial aid taken into account and must offer the required amount.

Division II Colleges

Division II colleges in Florida include: Barry University (Sunshine State Conference); Eckerd College (Sunshine State Conference); Flagler College (Peach Belt Conference); Florida Institute of Technology (Sunshine State Conference); Florida Southern College (Sunshine State Conference); Lynn University (Sunshine State Conference); Nova Southeastern University (Sunshine State Conference); Palm Beach Atlantic University (Independent); Rollins College (Sunshine State Conference); Saint Leo University (Sunshine State Conference); University of Tampa (Sunshine State Conference); and the University of West Florida (Gulf South Conference).

Related Articles