Ohio has 23 community colleges and technical schools. The Ohio Association of Community Colleges works with the colleges and coordinates programs to fulfill the educational needs of the state, primarily in health care and engineering technology. Students can choose terminal associate degrees as well as credits that transfer to four-year universities.

Columbus State Community College

Columbus State Community College consists of an 80-acre main campus in downtown Columbus with 10 off-campus sites. This community college system enrolls more than 23,000 students per semester and offers 65 associate degree fields such as business, health, construction, hospitality and computer programming. Its Colleges of Arts and Science degrees are specifically designed for students planning to transfer to four-year universities. Its Department of Student Activities and Athletics offers yoga, Zumba dance, Pilates and health fairs open to students, faculty and staff.

Columbus State Community College 5500 E. Spring St. Columbus, OH 43215 614-287-5353 cscc.edu

Lorain County Community College

Lorain County Community College enrolls more than 9,000 students each term, offering more than 80 associate degree and certificate programs in health-related fields, computer and digital forensics, early-childhood development, and culinary arts. It is the only Ohio community college in the University Partnership, meaning students can earn bachelor's and master’s degrees from state universities while taking classes at the community college. These universities include Kent State University and Bowling Green State University. The college offers programs that allow high school students and homeschooled students as young as 14 to get college credit while working on their high school diplomas.

Lorain County Community College 1005 N. Abbe Road Elyria, OH 44035 800-995-5222 lorainccc.edu

Lakeland Community College

Lakeland Community College consists of a main campus in Kirtland and additional campuses in Madison, Painesville and Willowick. It offers more than 130 associate degrees and certificates in fine arts, graphic design, journalism, real estate, woodworking technology, psychology, tourism and criminal justice. Health-related programs include respiratory therapy, surgical technology and massage therapy. More than 12,000 students enroll each term. LCC Basic Police Academy is open to applicants who are at least 21 years old who want to work in law enforcement. Students have to pass background checks, physical and mental exams, as well as submit copies of passports and Ohio driver’s licenses.

Lakeland Community College 7700 Clocktower Drive Kirtland, OH 44094 440-525-7000 lakelandcc.edu

Owens Community College

Owens Community College has two campuses. The main campus is in downtown Toledo, and the second campus is in Findley, about 45 miles south of Toledo. Collectively, more than 23,000 students enroll in this community college system. This community college offer more than 130 associate degrees and certificates in automotive technology, biomedical electronics, commercial art technology, diesel technology, dietetics, welding and physical therapist assistants. The Fire Science Technology program teaches students who want careers in fire prevention and firefighting. Owens courses transfer to more than 20 Ohio four-year colleges and universities.

Owens Community College 30335 Oregon Road Perrysburg, OH 43551 567-661-7000 www.owens.edu

Related Articles